London Press Club and Cudlipp award: October 17 at Stationers’ Hall

18 July, 2023

Editors and their journalists are being invited to submit their work for judging in the 2023 London Press Club and Cudlipp awards.

Submissions by end of August – no entry fees
£1,500 prize for political journalist award
£1,000 award for best young journalist

Judging panels will be deciding on shortlists at the beginning of September. The Awards lunch will take place on Tuesday 17 October at Stationers’ Hall, near St Paul’s Cathedral.

The awards will be for:

  • Daily Newspaper of the Year
  • Sunday Newspaper of the Year
  • Journalist of the year
  • Broadcaster of the year
  • Multi-media journalist of the year
  • Sports journalist of the year
  • Business journalist of the year
  • Scoop of the year
  • Young journalist of the year
  • Edgar Wallace Award for outstanding journalism
  • This year there will be one new category: Political Journalist of the Year

The Cudlipp Award for Campaigning and Investigative Journalism, named after the Mirror Group’s famous editor and editorial director Lord Hugh Cudlipp, will be announced and presented as part of the London Press Club Awards lunch on Tuesday 17 October.

There will be separate judging panels for the Cudlipp and Press Club Awards.

Press Club Awards judges chaired by Nick Ferrari will include John Stapleton, Eve Pollard, Rachel Johnson and Mihir Bose.

Cudlipp Award judges chaired by Bill Hagerty will include Julia Langdon, Kim Fletcher, Stewart Purvis and Michael Williams.

Awarded for campaigning zeal and investigative skill, the Cudlipp Award last year joined the London Press Club’s own set of journalism honours.

Doug Wills, chair of London Press Club, said: “It has been a phenomenal news year, particularly in British politics and world affairs. We are delighted that this year we have the new award for Political Journalist of the Year. Thanks to the support of Lord Salisbury, this award comes with £1,500 prize money for the winner.

“We are delighted that the Cudlipp Award will again be announced as part of the London Press Club awards lunch. This brings together two of the most-respected set of awards in the industry.”

  • The Journalists’ Charity has agreed to give a £1,000 cash prize to the winner of the London Press Club’s Young Journalist of the Year Award. Print, digital and broadcast journalists aged 26 or under are eligible.

Bill Hagerty,  who chairs the Culipp judges and is chairman emeritus and former editor of British Journalism Review, said: “The importance of Campaign and Investigative Journalism grows by the year and the response received from editors and other senior figures in the media industries showed how much they appreciate the inclusion of the admired Cudlipp prize in the London Press Club’s acknowledgements of journalism’s finest work.”   

As always with the Press Club awards, entries are not required for any of the categories, nor for the Cudlipp Award, although submissions are welcomed from editors and individual journalists. These will be considered if sent by 1 September to from where they will be forwarded to the judges.

Pictured:Noa Hoffman, winner of the Journalists’ Charity Young Journalist of the Year Award at the 2022 London Press Club Awards.