Sixth Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards winners unveiled

2 May, 2021

BBC Cymru Wales reporter Stephen Fairclough has been named as the Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards Journalist of the Year 2020 at an online ceremony.

Dylan Iorwerth, journalist, broadcaster, writer and founder of Welsh language newspaper Golwg, was honoured with the Outstanding Contribution Award for a lifetime of tireless championing of Welsh and English language journalism in Wales.

Delayed from last year because of the pandemic, the online ceremony was hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill.

Supported by Camelot as headline sponsor for the second year, the Awards celebrate and promote great journalism in Wales – work produced in Wales, for an audience in Wales, by journalists, photographers and camera operators.

Nearly 90 of over 240 entries received from across Wales were shortlisted in 20 categories by a judging team of 34, led by the emeritus editor of PA, Jonathan Grun.

Judges said that Stephen Fairclough, who also won the Audio News Journalist category, “demonstrated his ability to tell very different stories with skill and humanity – stories that in one case shone light on a scandal, in another touched the heart and in the third entertained with nostalgia. Outstanding work.”

A full list of winners can be seen at

The Wales Media Awards are organised as a fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity in Wales which helps journalists and their dependants with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance.

They are organised on behalf of the Journalists’ Charity by Spencer David. In addition to  Camelot, other sponsors are Aston Martin, Cardiff University School of Journalism, Media and Culture, Grayling, ITV Cymru Wales, National Union of Journalists, S4C Clic, University of South Wales, Welsh Government and Western Power Distribution. Further support has come from Celf Creative, Cleartech Live, Natasha Hirst Photography, and Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff.