Wales Media Awards 2022 shortlist announced

13 February, 2022

The shortlist for the 2022 Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards has been announced.

The Wales Media Awards are organised on behalf of the Journalists’ Charity by Spencer David with the support of headline sponsor Camelot. Other sponsors are Cardiff University, Celf Creative, Cleartech Live, Cowshed, ITV Cymru Wales, Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff Natasha Hirst Photography,  National Union of Journalists, NUJ Training Wales, Openreach,  S4C, Spencer David and Welsh Government.

The shortlist (not in order of merit) is:

Magazine of the Year – Sponsored by the Journalists’ Charity

Wales Business Insider

Western Mail Weekend magazine



Camera Operator of the Year  –Sponsored by Celf

Dai Baker – C4 News

Geraint Thomas – BBC Cymru Wales

Tom Brown – BBC Sport Wales


Independent Community Journalism – Sponsored by ITV Cymru Wales

Cwmbran Life

Aberystwyth EGO

Caerphilly Observer


Feature Writer of the Year – Sponsored by S4C

Theo Meredith Davies-Lewis – The National Wales

Ffion Lewis – Wales OnLine

Will Hayward – Wales OnLine & Western Mail

Amanda Powell – Western Mail Weekend Magazine


Columnist of the Year – Sponsored by Mercure Holland House Hotel

Richard Wyn Jones – Barn

Sara Robinson –                 Western Mail

Sarah John – Western Mail

Will Hayward – Wales OnLine & Western Mail


Photographer of the Year –Sponsored by Natasha Hirst Photography

Joann Randles – Cover Images

Ian Cooper – North Wales Daily Post

Dimitrios Legakis – Athena Picture Agency


Vlog/Blog of the Year – 

Ed Gilbert – Gourmet Gorro

Chris Knight –


Newspaper Journalist of the Year

Owens Evans – Daily Post

Philip Dewey – Media Wales

Will Hayward – Wales OnLine & Western Mail

Ffion Lewis – Wales OnLine

Ryan O’Neil – Wales OnLine

Abbie Wightwick – Western Mail

Kelly Williams – Daily Post


Audio News Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by the Journalists’ Charity

Beth Edwards – BBC Radio Wales

Owain Clarke – BBC Radio Wales

Mark Hutchings – BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 5 Live


TV Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Spencer David

Rob Osborne – ITV Cymru Wales

Andy Davies – Channel 4 News

Hannah Thomas – ITV Cymru Wales

Charanpreet Khaira – ITV Cymru Wales

Rhys Williams – BBC Cymru Wales


News Website of the Year – Sponsored by Openreach

Wales OnLine

The National Wales

BBC Cymru Fyw

BBC Wales News OnLine


Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year

Sponsored by Cowshed

South Wales Echo

Western Mail

North Wales Daily Post


Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Western Telegraph

Powys County Times

Mid Wales Journal


Specialist Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Welsh Government

Jenny Rees – BBC Cymru Wales

Hannah Thomas – ITV Cymru Wales

Gwenfair Griffith – BBC Radio Cymru

Mark Smith – Wales OnLine


Political Journalist of the Year

Owain Phillips – ITV Cymru Wales

Will Hayward – Wales OnLine & Western Mail

Laura Clements – Wales OnLine & Western Mail

Ione Wells – BBC Cymru Wales


Audio News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year – Sponsored by Cleartech

BBC Radio Cymru –  Dros Frecwast

BBC Radio Wales – Drive with Gareth Lewis

BBC Radio Cymru – Y Bachwyr Swynol


Sports Journalist of the Year

School of Journalism, Media and Culture, Cardiff University

Chris Wathan – BBC Radio Wales

Simon Thomas – Media Wales

David Owens – Nation Cymru

Tom Coleman – Wales OnLine


Ed Townsend Student Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by National Union of Journalists

Nest Jenkins – Cardiff University CJS News

Jessica Quirin – University of South Wales

Chris Knight – Cardiff Met Sport TV


TV News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year

ITV Cymru Wales – Y Byd ar Bedwar

S4C – Llofruddiaeth Mike O’leary

ITV Cymru Wales – Coronavirus: A Care Home’s Story


Young Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by NUJ Training Wales

Reem Ahmed – Wales OnLine

Joe Robinson – Flintshire & Wrexham Leader

Ffion Lewis – Wales OnLine

Ione Wells – BBC Cymru Wales

 The Awards will be presented at a prestigious black tie Ceremony at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff, on 25 March 2022 hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill.

The evening is the major Welsh fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity, which supports working and retired journalists in urgent need with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance, and will include a sparkling wine reception, three course meal, the presentation of the Awards, and plenty of opportunity for socialising and networking with media colleagues from around Wales with a late bar until 1.00am.

Standard price tickets are just £90 each, and tables for 10 are priced at £875. Entrants shortlisted for the Independent Community News Service of the Year and Ed Townsend Student Journalist of the Year Categories ONLY qualify for ONE ticket per entry at the reduced rate of £58.

Tickets can be obtained from